The details of the soundtrack album for the drama Chasing Mavericks have been revealed. The album features the original song Give Me An Energy by Greg Holden, as well as several alternative rock tracks from the 90s by artists including Mazzy Star, Sponge, The Butthole Surfers, The Lemonheads, Dinosaur Jr. and Matthew Sweet. Also included is a 6-minute suite from the movie’s original score composed by Chad Fischer (Garden State). The soundtrack will be released digitally on October 23, 2012 by Relativity Music Group. As previously reported, a CD version is coming out in November and is now available for pre-order on Amazon. Check out audio clips from the album below. Chasing Mavericks directed by Curtis Hanson and Michael Apted and starring Jonny Weston, Gerard Butler, Taylor Handley, Elisabeth Shue and Abigail Spencer tells the story of Jay Moriarty, a world champion surfer from Northern California. The drama will be released on October 26, 2012 by 20th Century Fox. For more information about the film, visit the official movie website.

Here’s the album track list:

1. Plowed – Sponge
2. Brimful of Asha – Cornershop
3. Blue Light – Mazzy Star
4. Girlfriend – Matthew Sweet
5. Pepper – Butthole Surfers
6. Start Choppin’ – Dinosaur Jr.
7. Fade Into You – Mazzy Star
8. Into Your Arms – The Lemonheads
9. Give Me An Energy – Greg Holden
10. Chasing Mavericks Score Suite – Chad Fischer

  1. louis cretella says:

    can u please tell me what song is played in the trailer for chasing mavericks.lyrics “i can see the rain”thank you

  2. Sabby says:

    The lyrics are actually “I can see the wave”…

    Song: Mavericks
    Artist: Johnossi