‘Straw Dogs’ Soundtrack Details

Posted: September 8, 2011 by filmmusicreporter in Film Music Albums
Tags: , , ,

Madison Gate Records will be releasing the soundtrack album for the thriller Straw Dogs. The album includes the score from the movie by composer Larry Groupé (The Contender, Commander in Chief). The soundtrack will be released on September 13, 2011, both digitally and as an on-demand CD-R on Amazon. To listen to audio clips from the album, check out the box below. Also added below is the press release with more information about the score below. Straw Dogs directed by Rod Lurie and starring James Marsden, Kate Bosworth, Alexander Skarsgård, Dominic Purcell, Laz Alonso, Willa Holland and James Woods is a remake of the 1971 Sam Peckinpah film. The movie will be released in theaters on September 16, 2011. For more information, visit the official film website and Facebook movie page.

Here’s the album track list:

1. Main Title
2. Charlie Flirts
3. Southern Daddies
4. Covet They Neighbor’s Wife
5. The Farm
6. Quarry
7. Where’s Flutey
8. David Goes Hunting
9. Dogs of Straw
10. Flashbacks
11. The Uninvited
12. Hard Feeling
13. Janice Flirts
14. Going Flutey
15. Going Inward

Here’s the press release:


LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA – Film composer Larry Groupé reunites with Director Rod Lurie for Sony Pictures’ “Straw Dogs,” which opens nationwide September 16. The score album is available on Screen Gems Records. The film is written by Lurie with an earlier screenplay by David Zelag Goodman and Sam Peckinpaw (“Straw Dogs,” 1971) and stars Alexander Skarsgård, Kate Bosworth and James Marsden. Groupé’s score is eerily original, yet reminiscent of the music created for the 40s noir films with its progression of discomfort… to tension… to dread, with dexterous use of strings, minor chording, and sustained tempo. “There’s nothing like an audience realizing there is real danger around the corner just by hearing a particular cue. It’s the most exiting part of scoring a slow boiling thriller,” acknowledges Groupé.

“Straw Dogs” is the latest among Groupé’s many collaborations with the multi hyphenate Lurie. “Four Second Delay,” a short film that struck a chord in Lurie to engage in political thrillers, marked their first project. “Nothing But the Truth, among other Lurie-directed projects, followed the critically acclaimed film, “The Contender.”

Rod Lurie’s “Straw Dogs” is closely based on the original novel, “The Siege of Trencher’s Farm,by Gordon Williams.

  1. best movies says:

    thanks very much