‘Peterloo’ Soundtrack EP Released

Posted: November 5, 2018 by filmmusicreporter in Film Music Albums
Tags: , ,

Dubois Records has released a soundtrack EP for Mike Leigh’s period drama Peterloo. The 5-track EP features the film’s original music composed by Gary Yershon who has previously collaborated with the director on his last couple of movies, including Happy-Go-Lucky, Another Year, as well as Mr. Turner, for which the composer received his first Academy Award nomination. The soundtrack is now available to download on iTunes, where you can also listen to audio samples. Peterloo is written and directed by Leigh (Secrets & Lies, Vera Drake) and stars┬áRory Kinnear, Maxine Peake, Neil Bell, Philip Jackson, Vincent Franklin, Karl Johnson and Tim McInnerny. The movie centers on the infamous Peterloo Massacre of 1819, where government-backed cavalry charged into a peaceful crowd of 80,000 that gathered in Manchester, England to demand democratic reform. The drama premiered at this year’s Venice and Toronto Film Festivals and opened in theaters in the UK this past weekend. The movie will be released in select U.S. theaters on April 5, 2019 by Amazon Studios.

Here’s the track list of the EP:

1. Aftermath (7:03)
2. In Praise of the Weavers (feat. Dorothy Atkinson) (2:05)
3. To the Fields (1:02)
4. Middleton (1:03)
5. Across the Moors (1:39)