‘Dope’ Soundtrack Announced

Posted: June 3, 2015 by filmmusicreporter in Film Music Albums
Tags: , ,

dopeColumbia Records has announced a soundtrack album for the indie comedy drama Dope. The soundtrack is curated by Grammy winner and Oscar nominee Pharrell Williams who wrote and produced the original songs performed by the three main characters of the movie and their band Awreeoh. Also included are rap and hip-hop classics by artists including Digital Underground, Naughty By Nature, A Tribe Called Quest, Nas, Public Enemy & more. The soundtrack will be released on June 16, 2015 and is now available for pre-order on iTunes. Dope is written and directed by Rick Famuyiwa and stars Shameik Moore, Tony Revolori, Kiersey Clemons, Kimberly Elise, A$AP Rocky, Blake Anderson, Keith Stanfield, Chanel Iman, Quincy Brown and Zoë Kravitz. The movie follows a nerdy trio of South Los Angeles high schoolers obsessed with ‘90s hip hop culture surviving life in their tough neighborhood while juggling college applications, academics and the SAT. The dramedy premiered at this year’s Sundance Film Festival and will be released on June 19 by Open Road Films. To learn more about the film, visit the official movie website.

Here’s the album track list:

1. Rebirth of Slick – Digable Planets
2. Can’t Bring Me Down – Awreeoh
3. The World Is Yours – Nas
4. Go Head – Awreeoh
5. Rebel Without A Pause – Public Enemy
6. Don’t Get Deleted – Awreeoh
7. Scenario – A Tribe Called Quest
8. Cocaina Shawty – Kap G
9. Poppin’ Off – Watch The Duck
10. The Humpty Dance – Digital Underground
11. New Money – Buddy
12. Hip Hop Hooray – Naughty By Nature
13. Dirty Feeling – LolaWolf
14. Home Is Where The Hatred Is – Gil Scott-Herron
15. It’s My Turn Now – Awreeoh