the-seagullAnton Sanko is composing the music for the upcoming drama The Seagull. The film is directed by Michael Mayer (A Home at the End of the WorldFlicka) and stars Annette Bening, Saoirse Ronan, Corey Stoll, Elisabeth Moss, Brian Dennehy, Mare Winningham, Jon Tenney, Glenn Fleshler, Michael Zegen and Billy Howle. The movie is based on Anton Chekhov’s classic tragic story of eight people who fall in love with the wrong person. Stephen Karam (Speech & Debate) wrote the screenplay. Tom Hulce is producing the project with Leslie Urdang (BeginnersAdam) and Robert Salerno (21 GramsNocturnal AnimalsA Single Man). Sanko has previously scored the Urdang-produced drama Rabbit HoleThe Seagull is expected to premiere later this year.

Sanko’s recent projects also include the comedy Big Bear starring Pablo Schreiber & Adam Brody, as well as the thriller The Drowning (originally entitled Border Crossing), which will be released in select theaters on May 10 by Paladin & Electric Entertainment.