babylon-berlinTom Tykwer and Johnny Klimek are composing the original music for the upcoming German television series Babylon Berlin. The show is directed by Tykwer and stars Volker Bruch, Liv Lisa Fries, Matthias Brandt, Hannah Herzsprung, Karl Markovics, Lars Eidinger and Sebastian Urzen. The drama is based on Volker Kutscher’s book Der nasse Fisch and follows young police inspector Gereon Rath in 1929 Berlin, a hotbed of politics, art, extremism, drugs and murder. The series is produced by Sky Deutschland, ARD Degeto, X Filme and Beta Film. Babylon Berlin is currently in production for two seasons of 16 episodes and is set to premiere next year on Sky in Germany. No word yet on a domestic premiere date.

Tykwer and Klimek will also return to score the second season of Netflix’s Sense8. They have previously co-scored Tykwer’s last feature A Hologram for the King and also composed the music for such Tykwer-directed films as Run Lola Run, Cloud Atlas, The International with Reinhold Heil. Klimek’s other upcoming projects also include Jungle starring Daniel Radcliffe.