book-of-lifeSony Masterworks will release a soundtrack album for the animated feature The Book of Life. The album features the film’s original music composed by Gustavo Santaolalla (Brokeback Mountain, Babel, The Motorcycle Diaries), including selections from the composer’s original score, as well as the film’s songs, including cover versions of Radiohead’s Creep, Biz Markie’s Just a Friend, Rod Stewart’s Do Ya Think I’m Sexy and Mumford & Sons’ I Will Wait performed by Diego Luna and GabrieL Iglesias. Also included are original songs by performed by Jesse & Joy and La Santa Cecilia, as well as tracks by Us The Duo and Kinky’s Más. The soundtrack will be released on October 21, 2014 and is now available for pre-order on Amazon. The Book of Life is directed by Jorge Gutierrez, produced by Guillermo del Toro and features the voice talent of Channing Tatum, Zoë Saldana, Diego Luna, Ice Cube, Ron Perlman, Christina Applegate, Danny Trejo, Cheech Marin, Kate del Castillo and Eugenio Derbez. The movie follows a young man torn between fulfilling the expectations of his family and following his heart who embarks on an adventure that spans three fantastical worlds where he must face his greatest fears. The animated comedy will be released nationwide on October 17, 2014 by 20th Century Fox. For updates on the film, visit the official movie website.

[soundcloud url=”″ params=”auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false&visual=true” width=”100%” height=”450″ iframe=”true” /]

Here’s the album track list:

1. Live Life – Jesse & Joy
2. The Apology Song – La Santa Cecilia
3. No Matter Where You Are – Us The Duo
4. I Love You Too Much – Diego Luna / Gustavo Santaolalla
5. I Will Wait – Diego Luna / Joe Matthews / Gustavo Santaolalla
6. Más – Kinky
7. Cielito Lindo – Plácido Domingo
8. Creep – Diego Luna / Gustavo Santaolalla
9. Can’t Help Falling In Love with You – Diego Luna
10. Ecstasy of Gold – Gustavo Santaolalla
11. Do Ya Think I’m Sexy – Gabriel Iglesias / Gustavo Santaolalla
12. Just a Friend – Biz Markie / Cheech Marin
13. El Aparato / Land of the Remembering – Café Tacuba / Gustavo Santaolalla
14. Visiting Mother – Gustavo Santaolalla
15. The Apology Song – Diego Luna / Gustavo Santaolalla
16. No Matter Where You Are – Diego Luna
17. Te Amo y Más – Diego Luna / Gustavo Santaolalla
18. Si Puedes Perdonar – Diego Luna / Gustavo Santaolalla

  1. Lourdes Brubeck says:

    The picture is great. I think it’s excellent to talk about such values and principles as family, respect, love and friendship. On the other side, the production is awsome. I’d like to get the lyrics of all the songs to teach them to my students.

  2. Mellwie says:

    Hi, I wonder what the song is that plays in the beginning when the kids come to the museum in the school bus. If anyone know pls tell me! 😀