thomas-newmanThomas Newman will be honored with the Frederick Loewe Award for Film Composing at the 25th annual Palm Springs International Film Festival (PSIFF). The composer will be receiving his award for his music for John Lee Hancock’s Saving Mr. Banks starring Emma Thompson, Tom Hanks and Colin Farrell. Newman has previously won the award in 2006 following his work for Cinderella Man and Jarhead. Past recipients of the Frederick Loewe Award include Mychael Danna, Alexandre Desplat, Danny Elfman, Howard Shore and Randy Newman. The Awards Gala will be held Saturday, January 4, 2014 at the Palm Springs Convention Center. Newman will be recognized at the event alongside Sandra Bullock, Bruce Dern, Matthew McConaughey, Steve McQueen, Julia Roberts and Lupita Nyong’o.