after-earthThe details of the soundtrack album for M. Night Shyamalan’s upcoming sci-fi adventure After Earth have been revealed. The album features the film’s original score composed by the director’s regular musical collaborator James Newton Howard (The Sixth Sense, Unbreakable, Signs, The Village). The soundtrack is set to be released digitally on May 28, 2013 and physically on June 4, 2013 by Sony Masterworks. To pre-order the CD, visit Amazon. Audio clips are available below. After Earth stars Will Smith and Jaden Smith and follows a teenager and his legendary father who get stranded on Earth, 1,000 years after cataclysmic events forced humanity‚Äôs escape following a crash landing. Since our last update, the film’s release date has been moved up a week to May 31, 2013. To learn more about the Sony Pictures production, visit the official movie website.

Here’s the album track list (might contain spoilers!):

1. The History of Man
2. I’m Not Advancing You
3. Pack Your Bags
4. Leaving Nova Prime
5. Can You Ghost
6. Ship Tears Apart
7. Kitai Finds Cypher
8. Get Me Into The Cockpit
9. The Mission
10. Baboons
11. Kitai On Earth
12. Four Vials Remain, Sir
13. Run To The Falls
14. Abort Mission
15. Bird Attack
16. Nest Battle
17. Safety In The Hog Hole
18. Saved By The Bird
19. The Tail
20. Dad, Are You There
21. Leech
22. See The Peak
23. Run To The Volcano
24. Somewhere To Hide
25. Chase Through The Cave
26. Ghosting
27. I Wanna Work With Mom
28. End Credits

  1. Williams85 says:

    Been looking forward to this score. Also looking forward to Nathan Furst’s Need For Speed.

  2. David says:

    Hoping that it doesn’t happen the same thing with Airbender with the choir cut from the CD and replaced by a synth one.

  3. Macejko says:

    Really lame score. After Snow White I am pretty sure now – JNH lost his touch.

    • david says:

      Please. It’s a great score. A follow-up of the I Am Legend/Hunger Games. And it’s the most thematic score he has written in a while (there’s 4 themes). I’m tired of people bashing every JNH score, because it’s not like the ones from the 90’s. He’s going back to his roots in electric music, long before becoming into a typical blockbuster composer that everybody we’re spoiled to have.