Deutsche Grammophon will release the official soundtrack album for the biographical drama The White Crow. The album features the film’s original score composed by Ilan Eshkeri (Stardust, Layer Cake, Still Alice, Kick-Ass, Johnny English Reborn) and featuring violin solos by Lisa Batiashvili. Also included are ballet compositions by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, Alexander Krein & Ludwig Minkus, most of which have been newly arranged for the project by Eshkeri. The soundtrack will be released digitally tomorrow, March 22 and will be available to download here. The White Crow is directed by Ralph Fiennes who also stars in the movie alongside Oleg Ivenko, Adèle Exarchopoulos, as well as ballet-world enfant terrible Sergei Polunin, Chulpan Khamatova, Olivier Rabourdin, Raphaël Personnaz and Louis Hofmann. The movie is inspired by the book Rudolf Nureyev: The Life by Julie Kavanaugh and charts the iconic dancer’s famed defection from the Soviet Union to the West in 1961, despite KGB efforts to stop him. The drama is being released in British theaters this week following its premiere at the Telluride & Toronto Film Festivals last year and will air arrive in the U.S. on April 26, where it is being distributed by Sony Pictures Classics. Visit the official movie website for more information.

Here’s the album track list:

1. Eshkeri: Trans-Siberian Express (0:53)
2. Eshkeri: Paris (2:34)
3. Krein: Laurencia – Pas de six: 10. Wedding Dance (1:42)
4. Eshkeri: La Sainte-Chapelle (2:16)
5. Tchaikovsky: Swan Lake, Op. 20, TH. 12 – Pas de trois: 2. Andante sostenuto (2:07)
6. Eshkeri: Ufa (0:52)
7. Minkus: La Bayadère – 46. Third Shade Variation (1:30)
8. Eshkeri: Leningrad (1:22)
9. Eshkeri: Nureyev (4:21)
10. Minkus: La Bayadère – 32. Solor Variation (1:03)
11. Eshkeri: The Prodigal Son (0:54)
12. Tchaikovsky: Swan Lake, Op. 20, TH. 12 – Pas de deux: 4. Coda (1:41)
13. Eshkeri: Le Bourget (6:22)
14. Traditional: Bashkirian Folk Dance – Danny Driver  (1:33)
15. Tchaikovsky: The White Crow (4:50)

  1. Matthew Rothschild says:

    When can I purchase this soundtrack on vinyl lp? I can’t find it anywhere. Matthew in San Francisco