Marcelo Zarvos (Wonder, Fences, The Affair, The Good Shepherd) is composing the music for the upcoming biographical drama Mapplethorpe. The film is written and directed by Ondi Timoner (Dig!, We Live in Public) and stars Matt Smith, Marianne Rendón, John Benjamin Hickey, Brandon Sklenar, McKinley Belcher III and Mark Moses. The movie tells the story of art-school dropout Robert Mapplethorpe who quickly became the enfant terrible of the photography world as the downtown counterculture of 1970s New York reached its zenith. Timoner is also producing the project with actress Eliza Dushku, Nathaniel Dushku and Richard J. Bosner. Mapplethorpe will premiere next month at the Tribeca Film Festival.

Zarvos’ other upcoming feature projects also include Michael Engler’s The Chaperone starring Elizabeth McGovern, Nicole Holofcener’s The Land of Steady Habits starring Ben Mendelsohn & Edie Falco and Robin Bissell’s The Best of Enemies starring Taraji P. Henson & Sam Rockwell.