the-masterpieceDave Porter has signed on to score the upcoming drama The Masterpiece (aka The Disaster Artist). The film is directed by James Franco who also stars in the film with Dave Franco, Zac Efron, Seth Rogen, Josh Hutcherson, Jacki Weaver, Hannibal Buress, Ari Graynor, Sharon Stone, Alison Brie, Kate Upton, Bryan Cranston, Zoey Deutch and Andrew Santino. The movie takes an in-depth look at the making of the 2003 cult classic The Room – hailed by many as one of the worst movies ever made.  Scott Neustadter & Michael H. Weber (500 Days of SummerThe Fault in Our Stars) have written the screenplay based on the book by Greg Sestero and Tom Bissell. Franco is also producing the New Line Cinema production with Rogen & Evan Goldberg (This Is the End, The Interview). The Masterpiece is expected to be released in 2017 by Warner Bros. Pictures.

Porter who is best known for his music for Breaking Bad will also return to score the fourth season of NBC’s The Blacklist, the third season of AMC’s Better Call Saul and the second season of AMC’s Preacher.