imageIntrada Records has announced the world premiere soundtrack release for last year’s Chinese fantasy action adventure The Monkey King. The album features the film’s original music composed by Golden Globe nominee Christopher Young (Spider-Man 3HellraiserThe Shipping NewsEntrapmentThe Exorcism of Emily Rose). The soundtrack is now available to order on the label’s official website, where you can also listen to audio samples. The Monkey King is directed by Pou-Soi Cheang (Dog Bite Dog) and stars Donnie Yen in the title role, alongside Aaron Kwok, Chow Yun-Fat, Peter Ho, Kelly Chen and Joe Chen. The film is based on selected chapters of Wu Cheng’en’s novel Journey to the West and tells the story of how the Monkey King rebels against the Jade Emperor of Heaven. The movie was released in China and other Asian markets last year. A sequel is set to be released in early 2016.

Here’s the album track list:

1. Yu Huang Da Di, The Jade Emperor (7:14)
2. Tieshan Gongzhu, The Princess Iron Fan (3:23)
3. Ao Kuang, The Dragon King Of The East Sea (9:50)
4. Nüwa, The Goddess Of Works (7:58)
5. Ruxue, The Silver Fox (5:41)
6. Erlang Shen, The Three-Eyed Warrior (3:15)
7. Guan Yin, The Goddess Of Mercy (3:25)
8. Subhuti, The Old Master (2:32)
9. Niu Mo Wang, The Bull Demon King (16:53)
10. Sun Wukong, The Monkey King (8:40)
11. Just Dreams (4:35)

  1. SDH says:

    Fortunately film composers never miss the opportunity to deliver a winner for this kind of pictures. I wonder if this means composers have more creative freedom for these “foreign” productions.