academyThe Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has invited 819 artists and executives who have distinguished themselves by their contributions to theatrical motion pictures to join the organization. Among the invited artists this year are a number of film composers, including Max Richter (Ad Astra, Hostiles), Jeff Russo (Lucy in the Sky, Mile 22), Jung Jae-Il (Parasite, Okja), Blake Neely (Life As We Know It, Greyhound), Tamar-Kali Brown (Mubound, The Assistant), Michael Nyman (Gattaca, The Piano), Bryce Dessner  (Irresistible, The Two Popes), Tom Howe (A Shaun the Sheep Movie: Farmageddon, Early Man), Robert Glasper (Miles Ahead, The Photograph), Ilan Eshkeri (Stardust, The Young Victoria), Nainita Desai (For Sama, The Reason I Jump), Roger Neill (20th Century Women, Beginners),  Arturo Sandoval (Richard Jewell, The Mule), Anton Sanko (Ouija, The Possession), Andrea Guerra (The Pursuit of Happyness, Hotel Rwanda), Cyril  Morin (Zaytoun, Samsara), Jermaine Stegall (Proximity, Jamesy Boy), Lele Marchitelli (Loro, The Great Beauty), Peter Kam (Dragon, The Warlords), Khaled Mouzanar (Capernaum, Where Do We Go Now?), Sattar Oraki (The Salesman, Give Back), Chanda Dancy (After We Leave, Everything before Us), Michiru Oshima (Memories of Tomorrow, Lost Paradise), Arhynn Descy (Eye for an Eye, 50 Kisses), Park Inyoung (Pieta, Poongsan) and Devonté “Blood Orange” Hynes (Queen & Slim).

Also invited were songwriters Cynthia Erivo & Joshuah Brian Campbell (Harriet), Bernie Taupin (Rocketman), Chad Hugo (The Black Godfather, Hidden Figures), Larry Mullen Jr. (Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom, Man on the Train) and Patrice Rushen (Men in Black, Indecent Proposal), as well as music editors Clint Bennett (After, Godzilla: King of the Monsters) and Katie Greathouse (Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse, Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End).