‘The Song’ Soundtrack Announced

Posted: August 21, 2014 by filmmusicreporter in Film Music Albums
Tags: ,

the-songCapitol Christian Music Group will release a soundtrack album for the music drama The Song. The album features the music from and inspired by the film, including 11 original songs and 3 new recordings from the motion picture. Artists featured on the release include Ricky Skaggs, Emmylou Harris, The Byrds’ Roger McGuinn and NEEDTOBREATHE. The soundtrack will be released on September 16, 2014 and is now available for pre-order on Amazon. The Song is written and directed by Richard Ramsey and stars Alan Powell of the group Anthem Lights, Caitlin Nicol-Thomas and Ali Faulkner. The movie is a modern-day adaptation of the life and writings of Solomon, as found in the Song of Solomon Ecclesiastes, and follows an aspiring singer-songwriter whose life and marriage suffer when the song he writes for his wife propels him to stardom. The drama will be released theatrically on September 26 by Samuel Goldwyn Films.

Here’s the album track list:

1. The Song (Awaken Love) – Alan Powell
2. Son of a King – Alan Powell
3. Kentucky Voice – Ricky Skaggs
4. Split the Baby – Alan Powell
5. You Made Me Love You – Taylor Walling
6. Can’t Hold On (Jed) – Alan Powell
7. I Love You Truly – Jill Paquette
8. Confetti – Caitlin Nicol-Thomas
9. All I Wanna Be – Alan Powell, Caitlin Nicol-Thomas
10. Falling Like Stars – Caitlin Nicol-Thomas
11. Ooh’s and Ahh’s – NEEDTOBREATHE
12. A Prayer in Open D – Emmylou Harris
13. Chasing After the Wind – Alan Powell
14. Turn, Turn, Turn (To Everything There Is A Season) – Roger McGuinn, Emmylou Harris, Ricky Skaggs
15. End of the Matter – Alan Powell