Deborah Lurie is reuniting with director Lasse Hallstrom on the upcoming romance Safe Haven. The film is based on a novel by Nicholas Sparks (The Notebook) and stars Josh Duhamel, Julianne Hough, David Lyons, Cobie Smulders and Noah Lomax. The movie centers on a young woman who struggles to find love again after she arrives in a small town in North Carolina, where her reluctance to join the community raises questions about her past. Dana Stevens (City of Angels, For the Love of the Game) and Les Bohem (Dante’s Peak) have written the screenplay and Relativity Media CEO Ryan Kavanaugh (The Fighter) and Temple Hill Entertainment’s Marty Bowen (Dear John) and Wyck Godfrey (Twilight series, I, Robot) are producing the project alongside Sparks. The film marks Lurie’s third film for the director following An Unfinished Life starring Robert Redford and the 2010 hit drama Dear John starring Channing Tatum and Amanda Seyfried, which was also based on a novel written by Sparks. Hallstrom has also collaborated with such composers as Rachel Portman (The Cider House Rules), Alexandre Desplat (Casanova), Christopher Young (The Shipping News) and Dario Marianelli (Salmon Fishing in the Yemen) throughout his career. Safe Haven is currently in post-production and is set to be released on February 8, 2013.

As previously reported, Lurie also has Josh Schwartz’s Fun Size starring Victoria Justice coming out this fall.