Warner Bros. Pictures has confirmed today that Johnny Klimek & Tom Tykwer are co-scoring the upcoming sci-fi action movie The Matrix Resurrections. The film is directed by Lana Wachowski and stars Keanu Reeves & Carrie-Anne Moss who reprise their roles from the original Matrix trilogy (scored by Don Davis). They are joined by Yahya Abdul-Mateen II, Jessica Henwick, Jonathan Groff, Neil Patrick Harris, Priyanka Chopra Jonas, Christina Ricci, Telma Hopkins, Eréndira Ibarra, Toby Onwumere, Max Riemelt, Brian J. Smith and Jada Pinkett Smith. Wachowski also co-wrote the screenplay with David Mitchell & Aleksander Hemon and is producing the project with Grant Hill (The Tree of Life, A Hidden Life) and James McTeigue (V for Vendetta, Ninja Assassin). Klimek & Tykwer have previously scored the Wachowski’s Netflix series Sense8 and also co-scored the Wachowski siblings- & Tykwer-directed feature Cloud Atlas (with Reinhold Heil). Klimek also composed the music for the McTeigue-directed thriller Breaking In. The Matrix Resurrections will be released in theaters nationwide on December 22, 2021 and will be available to stream on HBO Max on the same day.

  1. Bernd-Helmut Heine says:

    So, it´s official: No Don Davis this time. What a disappointment!

    • FaresTdkr says:

      Why to comeback to a no body needed(wanted) matrix sequel (reboot). I believe the story ended with the first one.

  2. Mark says:

    “No Don Davis = No Matrix. Simple as that.” ~ Jon Burlingame

  3. Courtney says:

    Well this is disappointing.

  4. Ariel says:

    Don Davis applied deep music theory and numerology to the score like no other composer I’ve heard. What he’s done for the Matrix franchise is part of its signature. The new version of the brass central motif sounds hollow compared to Davis’s original version. Zack Staenberg was vital to the editing so the pace throughout the movie depended on both geniuses working together. And neither of them contributed to Resurrections.