cinemaaudiosocietyThe Cinema Audio Society has announced the nominees for the 54th Annual CAS Awards for Outstanding Achievement in Sound Mixing. For the past few years, scoring mixers have been recognized alongside production, re-recording, ADR and foley mixers. In the Motion Pictures – Live Action category, the scoring mixers honored include Gareth Cousins for Edgar Wright’s Baby Driver (scored by Steven Price), Alan Meyerson for Christopher Nolan’s Dunkirk (music by Hans Zimmer) and Patty Jenkin’s Wonder Woman (scored by Rupert Gregson-Williams), Shawn Murphy for Rian Johnson’s Star Wars: The Last Jedi (music by John Williams) and Peter Cobbin for Guillermo del Toro’s The Shape of Water (scored by Alexandre Desplat).In the Motion Pictures – Animated category, the nominated scoring mixers are David Boucher for Pixar’s Cars 3  (scored by Randy Newman), Joel Iwataki for Pixar’s Coco (music by Michael Giacchino), Greg Hayes for Illumination Entertainment’s Despicable Me 3 (scored by Heitor Pereira), Shawn Murphy for Blue Sky Studios’ Ferdinand (music by John Powell) and Stephen Lipson for The LEGO Batman Movie (scored by Lorne Balfe). Composer Jeff Beal received a nomination in the Motion Picture – Documentary category for providing the mix for his own score for An Inconvenient Sequel: Truth to Power and Derek Lee is nominated for Brett Morgen’s Jane (scored by Philip Glass) in the same category. In the Television Movie or Mini-Series category, scoring mixers Michael Perfitt was recognized for his work on the third season episode The Narrow Escape Problem of Fargo (scored by Jeff Russo) and Nick Wollage was nominated for Sherlock episode The Lying Detective (music by David Arnold & Michael Price. For a full list of nominations, visit the Cinema Audio Society’s official website. The awards will be presented at a sealed envelope dinner on February 24, 2017 in the Bunker Hill Ballroom of the OMNI Los Angeles Hotel at California Plaza.