the-birth-of-a-nationAtlantic Records has released a soundtrack album for Nate Parker’s historical drama The Birth of a Nation. The album features songs inspired by the film by artists including Nas, Gucci Mane & Lil Wayne, 2 Chainz, Trey Songz, Lecreae & Leon Bridges, Vic Mensa, Ne-Yo, Sir the Baptist & more. The soundtrack is now available digitally on Amazon, where you can also check out audio samples. The Birth of a Nation is directed by Nate Parker who also stars in the film alongside Armie Hammer, Mark Boone Jr., Colman Domingo, Aunjanue Ellis, Dwight Henry, Aja Naomi King, Esther Scott, Roger Guenveur Smith, Gabrielle Union, Penelope Ann Miller and Jackie Earle Haley. The movie tells the true story of Nat Turner, a literate slave and preacher whose financially strained owner accepts an offer to use his preaching to subdue unruly slaves and devises a plan to lead his people to freedom. The drama premiered at this year’s Sundance Film Festival and will be released nationwide on October 7, 2016 by Fox Searchlight. Visit the official movie website for more information.

Here’s the track list of the album:

1. Go Tell ‘Em – Vic Mensa
2. Black Moses (feat. Priscilla Renea) – Meek Mill, Pusha T
3. Whip & A Chain – 2 Chainz
4. Oh Lord – Gucci Mane & Lil Wayne
5. On My Own – Lecrae and Leon Bridges
6. Raise Hell (feat. Killer Mike and ChuchPeople) – Sir the Baptist
7. Bloodline – Georgia Ku
8. Stand – Trey Songz
9. Queen – Ne-Yo
10. Live Forever – Wale and Anthony Hamilton
11. The Icarus – Kamau
12. Sins Of Our Fathers – The Game and Marsha Ambrosius
13.Firebird – Marko Penn and Janine
14. Forward – K. Michelle
15. War (feat. Raye) – Nas
16. Couldn’t Hear Nobody Pray – Wiley College Choir