hmmaThe nominations for the Hollywood Music in Media Awards (HMMAs) in the Visual Media categories in the visual media categories were announced today. Check out the nominees in the major categories below and visit the official HMMA website for the full list of nominations. The awards show will be held at The Fonda Theater in Hollywood on Tuesday, November 4, 2014. The event will be hosted by Oscar-nominated actor Eric Roberts, former Matchbox 20 member Adam Gaynor, acclaimed Director/Writer/Producer Andy Fickman and Earth, Wind & Fire’s Verdine White. A portion of the proceeds will benefit Education Through Music – Los Angeles (ETMLA).

Original Score: Feature Film:

Alexandre Desplat – The Imitation Game
Antonio Sanchez – Birdman
Johann Johannsson – The Theory of Everything
Hans Zimmer – Interstellar
Steven Price – Fury
Thomas Newman – The Judge
Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross – Gone Girl

Original Score: Sci-Fi/Fantasy Film

Tyler Bates – Guardians of the Galaxy
Steve Jablonsky – Transformers: Age of Extinction
James Newton Howard – Maleficent
Michael Giacchino – Dawn of the Planet of the Apes
Howard Shore – The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
Clint Mansell – Noah

Original Score: Animated Film

Danny Elfman – Mr. Peabody and Sherman
Dario Marianelli – The Boxtrolls
Gustavo Santaolalla – The Book of Life
John Powell – How To Train Your Dragon 2
Kristian Sensini – Rocks in My Pockets
Mark Mothersbaugh – The Lego Movie

Song – Film

“Lost Stars” (Begin Again) – Written by Gregg Alexander & Danielle Brisebois – Performed by Adam Levine and Keira Knightley
“I’ll Get You What You Want” (Muppets Most Wanted) – Written and Performed by Bret McKenzie
“Wish I Was Here” (Wish I Was Here) – Written &amp – Performed by Cat Power & Coldplay
“So Now What” (Wish I Was Here) – Written &amp – Performed by The Shins
“Not About the Angels” (The Fault in Our Stars) – Written by Jasmine Van Den Bogaerd -. Performed by Birdy

Song: Animated Film

“Everything is Awesome” (The Lego Movie) – Written by Shawn Patterson – Performed by Tegan and Sara feat. The Lonely Island
“Where No One Goes” (How To Train Your Dragon 2) – Written by Jónsi and John Powell – Performed by Jónsi
“What is Love” (Rio 2) – Written by Carlinhos Brown – Performed by Janelle Monáe
“Kid” (Mr. Peabody & Sherman) – Written & performed by Peter Andre
“Still I Fly” (Planes: Fire & Rescue) – Written by Windy Wagner – Performed by Spencer Lee

Original Score: TV Show/Digital Streaming Series

Gwendolyn Sanford, Scott Doherty, Brandon Jay – Orange is the New Black
T Bone Burnett – True Detective
Alan Silvestri – Cosmos: A Space Time Odyssey
Cliff Martinez – The Knick
Corey Allen Jackson – Parallels
Juan Carlos Rodriguez – Matador
Ramin Djawadi – Game of Thrones

Main Title: TV Show/Digital Streaming Series

Brian Tyler and Robert Grand Lydecker (Sleepy Hollow)
Alan Silvestri (Cosmos: A SpaceTime Odyssey)
Max Richter (The Leftovers)
David Alonso Garzón (Vitro)
Bear McCreary (Black Sails)

  1. tiago says:

    Jablonsky nominated? This is serious or they just needed another name to fulfill the nominations?

  2. heidl says:

    Interstellar hasn’t been released yet, so how can it be nominated then?

    I think that feature film slot should have been gone to JNH’s Maleficent.

  3. Robbie says:

    So excited that Steve Jablonsky was nominated. Loved the Transformers score.

  4. Merlot says:

    I hope for Elfman’s win!