behind-the-candelabraElektra Records will release the official soundtrack album for the HBO original movie Behind the Candelabra. The film’s original music is written by late composer Marvin Hamlisch. Also featured on the album are several tracks by pianist Liberace, played in the film by Michael Douglas. The soundtrack will be released on May 21, 2013 and is now available for pre-order on Amazon. Check back on this page for audio clips. Behind the Candelabra is directed by Steven Soderbergh and stars Michael Douglas, Matt Damon, Dan Aykroyd, Rob Lowe, Scott Bakula and Debbie Reynolds. The movie centers on the famous pianist and the secret affair he had with young Scott Thorson. Richard LaGravenese (The Fisher King) wrote the script and Jerry Weintraub (Ocean’s Eleven, The Karate Kid) is executive producing the project. The movie is set to premiere on May 26, 2013 on HBO and will also be shown this month at the Cannes Film Festival. To learn more about the film, visit HBO’s official movie website.

Here’s the track list of the album:

1. The Liberace Fanfare – The BTC Orchestra
2. The Liberace Boogie – The BTC Orchestra Feat. Michael Douglas
3. Carioca – The BTC Orchestra
4. Chopin Nocturne In E Flat Major – Randy Kerber
5. Tico Tico – Liberace
6. When Liberace Winks At Me – Liberace Feat. Peggy King
7. Why Do I Love You – Michael Douglas
8. Kitten On The Keys – Liberace
9. NOLA – The BTC Orchestra
10. Begin The Beguine – The BTC Orchestra
11. I Belong With You – The BTC Singers
12. Prelude in E Minor, OP. 28, No. 4 – Idil Biret
13. Love Is Blue – Liberace
14. The Impossible Dream – Michael Douglas

  1. What a WONDERFUL movie. I’ve always loved him since I saw him on T.V.
    as a kid in the 50’s.

  2. I was the kid in the 50’s !!
    He was THE BEST!