maleficentWalt Disney Records will release the official soundtrack album for the fantasy adventure Maleficent. The album features the film’s original music composed by James Newton Howard (The Hunger GamesKing KongThe Sixth Sense). Also featured is Lana Del Rey’s new cover version of the song Once Upon a Dream, which was featured in the movie’s trailer and was released earlier this year as a single. The soundtrack will be released on May 27, 2014 and is now available for pre-order on Amazon. Maleficent is directed by Robert Stromberg, produced by Joe Roth and stars Angelina Jolie, Elle Fanning, Sharlto Copley, Imelda Staunton, Sam Riley, Juno Temple and Lesley Manville. The movie tells the untold story of Disney’s most iconic villain from the 1959 classic Sleeping Beauty. The fantasy adventure will be released nationwide on May 30 by Walt Disney Pictures. For more information about the film, visit the official movie website.

Here’s the album track list:

1. Maleficent Suite (6:39)
2. Welcome To The Moors (1:05)
3. Maleficent Flies (4:40)
4. Battle Of The Moors (4:59)
5. Three Peasant Women (1:05)
6. Go Away (2:26)
7. Aurora And The Fawn (2:29)
8. The Christening (5:31)
9. Prince Phillip (2:29)
10. The Spindle’s Power (4:36)
11. You Could Live Here Now (2:27)
12. Path Of Destruction (1:48)
13. Aurora In Faerieland (4:41)
14. The Wall Defends Itself (1:06)
15. The Curse Won’t Reverse (1:21)
16. Are You Maleficent? (2:11)
17. The Army Dances (1:28)
18. Phillip’s Kiss (2:21)
19. The Iron Gauntlet (1:35)
20. True Love’s Kiss (2:33)
21. Maleficent Is Captured (7:42)
22. The Queen Of Faerieland (3:25)
23. Once Upon A Dream – Lana Del Rey (3:20)

  1. Ethan says:

    Hoping JNH to be back in form with this score !

  2. SDH says:


    He is more than “back in form” with this. Fans of Howard’s music for the fantasy genre are in for a big and pleasant surprise.

    • Lee says:

      Have you heard the Score then? I’ve heard JNH say in an interview that he puts this in his top 3 best he’s ever done, which excites me hugely.

  3. SDH says:


    You should be excited huge. You can expect a score for full orchestra, lots of adult and children’s choir, and several identifiable and memorable themes and motifs. Think of the more magical parts of Peter Pan, the rousing finale of Lady in the Water, the action-packed portions of Last Airbender and King Kong, etc, etc. And if that is not enough to keep you excited, remind yourself that something with this description is happening in the era vastly dominated by cold digital noise. It is quite an achievement.

    • Lee says:

      My ears are ready. I can’t wait to hear those first few notes. JNH is my all time favourite composer.

    • Ethan says:

      Great news ! 😀 Yes ! Come on JNH !