Posts Tagged ‘Raphael Saadiq’

Premiering tonight is the HBO original series Lovecraft Country developed by Misha Green, executive produced by Jordan Peele & J.J. Abrams and starring Jurnee Smollett, Jonathan Majors, Aunjanue Ellis, Abbey Lee, Jada Harris, Wunmi Mosaku and Michael Kenneth Williams. The show’s original music is composed by Laura Karpman (Step, Set It Up, Taken, Why We Hate) and Raphael […]

Laura Karpman (Step, Set It Up, Why We Hate) & Raphael Saadiq (Insecure, Black Nativity) are the composers of the new HBO original series Lovecraft Country. The show is developed by Misha Green based on Matt Ruff ‘s novel of the same title and stars Jurnee Smollett, Jonathan Majors, Aunjanue Ellis, Abbey Lee, Jada Harris, Wunmi Mosaku […]

Atlantic Records has released a new soundtrack album for the HBO original series Insecure. The album features a selections of songs from the show’s fourth season by artists such as Yung Baby Tate, Jucee Froot, Cautios Clay, St. Panther, Raphael Saadiq, Poe Leos, Rico Nasty, Jidenna, Iman Omari, TeaMarrr & others. The soundtrack is now […]

National Geographic, with Fox 21 Studios and Imagine Television Studios, announced today that Academy Award nominee Terence Blanchard (BlacKkKlansman, Inside Man, Malcolm X) is set to score the upcoming National Geographic original series Genius: Aretha. Raphael Saadiq (Insecure, Step) has been tapped to serve as an executive music producer and will be responsible for producing, […]

Premiering tonight is the Syfy original movie The Last Sharknado: It’s About Time directed by Anthony C. Ferrante and starring Ian Ziering, Tara Reid, Cassie Scerbo, Judah Friedlander, Vivica A. Fox and Chris Owen. The film’s original music is composed by Christopher Cano and Chris Ridenhour who scored the previous four movies in the series. The sixth […]

Raphael Saadiq has recently scored the new Netflix original movie The After Party. The film is written and directed by Ian Edelman (Puerto Ricans in Paris, How to Make It in America) and stars Kyle Harvey, Harrison Holzer, Teyana Taylor, Blair Underwood, Jordan Rock and Shelley Hennig. The comedy follows an aspiring rapper and his best friend/manager […]

Premiering on Tuesday, January 16, is the new CW drama Black Lightning developed by Samil Akil & Mara Brock Akil based on the DC comic books character created by Tony Isabella & Trevor Von Eeden and starring Cress Williams, Nafessa Williams, China Anne McClain and Christine Adams. The show’s original music is composed by Kurt Farquhar (The […]

Mary J. Blige has recorded the original song Mighty River for the period drama Mudbound. The singer/songwriter who also stars in the movie co-wrote the track with Raphael Saadiq (Underground, Insecure) and Taura Stinson. Check back on this page for more information about a soundtrack release for the movie. Mudbound is directed by Dee Rees and stars Carey Mulligan, Jason Clarke, Jason […]

‘Step’ Score Album Released

Posted: August 7, 2017 by filmmusicreporter in Film Music Albums
Tags: , , , ,

Fox Music has released a score album for the documentary Step. The album features the film’s original music composed by Laura Karpman (Paris Can Wait, Black Nativity) and Raphael Saadiq (Underground, Insecure). The soundtrack is now available to download on Amazon, where you can also listen to audio samples. As previously reported, Columbia Records has released a separate soundtrack featuring songs […]

Two new movies are opening nationwide this weekend: Opening in most theaters is the fantasy adventure The Dark Tower directed by Nikolaj Arcel and staring Idris Elba, Matthew McConaughey, Tom Taylor, Claudia Kim, Fran Kranz, Abbey Lee and Jackie Earle Haley. The film’s original music is composed by Tom Holkenborg (aka Junkie XL) (Mad Max: Fury Road, Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice, […]