Sony Masterworks will release a soundtrack album for Ridley Scott’s dramatic thriller All the Money in the World. The album features the film’s original music composed by Daniel Pemberton (Steve Jobs, Molly’s Game, The Man from U.N.C.L.E., King Arthur: Legend of the Sword, Gold) who previously collaborated with the director on The Counselor. The soundtrack will be released physically on January 12, 2018. A digital release is expected later this year. Check back on this page for the pre-order links. All the Money in the World starring Michelle Williams, Christopher Plummer, Mark Wahlberg, Romain Duris, Charlie Plummer & Timothy Hutton follows the kidnapping of 16-year-old John Paul Getty III and the desperate attempt by his devoted mother Gail to convince his billionaire grandfather to pay the ransom. Read the rest of this entry »

23rd Critics’ Choice Awards Nominations Announced

Posted: December 6, 2017 by filmmusicreporter in Film Music News

critics-choiceThe Broadcast Film Critics Association (BFCA) has announced the nominations for the 23rd Critics’ Choice Movie Awards this morning. The film music-related categories are listed below. For a full list of nominations, click here. The awards will be given out on January 11, 2018 at the 23rd Annual Critics’ Choice Movie Awards ceremony, which will broadcast in the U.S. on The CW,

The Best Score nominees are:

The Shape of Water – Alexandre Desplat
Phantom Thread – Jonny Greenwood
Darkest Hour – Dario Marianelli
Blade Runner 2049 – Benjamin Wallfisch & Hans Zimmer
The Post – John Williams
Dunkirk – Hans Zimmer Read the rest of this entry »

Rising Phoenix Records has released a soundtrack album for the survival drama 6 Below: Miracle on the Mountain. The album features the film’s original music composed by Nathan Furst (Need for Speed, Act of Valor, Dust to Glory). The soundtrack is now available to download on Amazon, where you can also listen to audio samples. Furst also co-wrote the original end credits song I’ve Been Tested with Beth Waugh. Click here to download the track, which was released earlier this year. 6 Below is directed by Scott Waugh and stars Josh Hartnett and Mira Sorvino. The movie tells the true story of former professional hockey player Eric LeMarque who was stranded atop a Mountain for eight days. Read the rest of this entry »

‘The Goldbergs’ Mixtape to Be Released

Posted: December 5, 2017 by filmmusicreporter in TV Music Albums
Tags: , ,

Madison Gate Records will release the first official soundtrack album for the ABC hit comedy The Goldbergs. The album features a selections of the songs from the show performed by cast members Hayley Orrantia, Troy Gentile, AJ Michalka and Sam Lerner. Also included is the series’ main title theme Rewind by I Fight Dragons and Kurtis Blow’s D&D from the episode Dungeons & Dragons, Anyone?. The Goldbergs Mixtape will be released digitally tomorrow, December 6 and is now available for pre-order on Amazon. The Goldbergs is created by Adam F. Goldberg and also stars Wendi McLendon-Covey, Jeff Garlin, Sean Giambrone and George Segal. Read the rest of this entry »

Thomas Adès is currently scoring the upcoming biographical drama Colette. The film is directed by Wash Westmoreland (Still Alice, Quinceañera) and stars Keira Knightley, Dominic West, Fiona Shaw, Denise Gough, Elinor Tomlinson and Aiysha Hart. The movie revolves around the French novelist (author of Gigi and Cheri) who overcomes an abusive marriage to emerge as a leading writer in turn-of-the-century Paris and a candidate for the Nobel Prize in Literature. Westmoreland also wrote the screenplay with Richard Glatzer and Rebecca Lemkowicz (Ida, Disobedience). Read the rest of this entry »

Lakeshore Records will release the first soundtrack album for the CBS All Access sci-fi drama Star Trek: Discovery. The album features selections of the original music from the first part of the show’s first season composed by Emmy Award winner Jeff Russo (Fargo, Legion, The Night Of, Snowfall, Power). The soundtrack will be released digitally on December 15. A CD and vinyl version is in the works for a 2018 release. Visit Amazon to pre-order the digital version. Star Trek: Discovery is developed by Alex Kurtzman & Bryan Fuller and stars Sonequa Martin-Green, Jason Isaacs, Doug Jones, James Frain, Michelle Yeoh and Anthony Rapp. The series is set a decade before the events of the original Star Trek series and follows the crew of the USS Discovery during the Federation-Klingon cold war. Read the rest of this entry »

Madison Gate Records will release the main title theme from the first season of the Hulu original series Shut Eye. The song, Walk on Well Lighted Streets, is written and performed by the show’s creator Leslie Bohem and will be released as a digital single this Wednesday, December 6. Visit Amazon to pre-order the track. Shut Eye starring Jeffrey Donovan, KaDee Strickland, Isabella Rosselini, David Zayas, Susan Misner and Emmanuelle Chriqui is set in the world of storefront psychics in Los Angeles and centers on a disgruntled former player in the world who begins to experience visions. Read the rest of this entry »

Intrada Records has announced a new soundtrack release for the 1977 sci-fi drama Damnation Alley directed by Jack Smight and starring Jan-Michael Vincent, George Peppard, Dominique Sanda, Paul Winfield and Jackie Earle Haley. The album features the complete original score from the 20th Century Fox production composed by Academy Award winner Jerry Goldsmith (Star Trek: The Motion Picture, The Omen, Patton, Planet of the Apes, L.A. Confidential, Chinatown) and conducted by Lionel Newman. The soundtrack is now available to order on the label’s official website, where you can also listen to audio samples and check out the track list. Read the rest of this entry »

Hauschka (aka Volker Bertelmann) has signed on to score the upcoming survival drama Adrift. The film is directed by Baltasar Kormakur (Everest, 2 Guns, Contraband) and stars Shailene Woodley and Sam Claflin. The movie tells the true story of Tami Oldham, who, after being knocked unconscious by the largest hurricane in the history of the Pacific Ocean, awakens to find her fiancé badly injured, their boat in ruins, and no means of communication or navigation. Aaron & Jordan Kandell (Moana) wrote the screenplay and are also producing the project with Kormakur. Read the rest of this entry »

Nominations for 45th Annie Awards Announced

Posted: December 4, 2017 by filmmusicreporter in Film Music News

annie-awardsThe International Animated Film Society, ASIFA-Hollywood, has announced the nominations for the 45th Annual Annie Awards this morning. Here are the music-related nominees:

Music in an Animated Feature Production

  • Theodore Shapiro – Captain Underpants: The First Epic Movie – 
DreamWorks Animation
  • Michael Giacchino, Kristen Anderson-Lopez, Robert Lopez Germaine Franco – Coco 
 –Pixar Animation Studios
  • Clint Mansell – Loving Vincent –BreakThru Films, Production Company Trademark Films, Co-Production Company
  • Christophe Beck, Elyssa Samsel & Kate Anderson – Olaf’s Frozen Adventure –Walt Disney Animation Studios
  • Mychael Danna & Jeff Danna – The Breadwinner –Cartoon Saloon / Aircraft Pictures / Melusine Productions

Read the rest of this entry »