Milan Records has announced Travesía, a new album featuring music by composer Ryuichi Sakamoto (The Last Emperor, Merry Christmas Mr. LawrenceLittle BuddhaFemme Fatale, Snake Eyes), curated by five-time Academy Award-winning filmmaker Alejandro G. Iñárritu (Birdman, Babel, 21 Grams, Amores Perros, Bardo, Biutiful). The album features twenty tracks handpicked by Iñárritu, including selections of the Sakamoto’s solo work such as Thousand Knives, the title track of the musician’s 1978 debut album. Also included is a new, never-before-heard mix of The Revenant Main Theme (written for Iñárritu’s 2015 feature) by Sakamoto’s long-time collaborator Alva Noto. Travesía will be released digitally and on vinyl on May 5. Visit Amazon to pre-order the vinyl edition.

Here’s the track list of the album:

1. Thousand Knives
2. The Revenant Main Theme (Alva Noto Remodel)
3. Before Long
4. Nuages
6. Ma Mère l’Oye
7. Rose
8. Tokyo Story
9. Break With
10. Blu
11. Asadoya Yunta
12. Rio
13. Reversing
14. Thatness and Thereness
15. Ngo/bitmix
16. +Pantonal
17. Laménto’
18. Diabaram
19. Same Dream, Same Destination
20. Composition 0919

  1. Mark says:

    Isn’t the Alva Noto Remodel same one as in the original release?