René Aubry is set to compose the original music for the upcoming animated special The Smeds and the Smoos. The film is directed by Daniel Snaddon & Samantha Cutler and stars Sally Hawkins (as Narrator), Adjoa Andoh, Bill Bailey, Meera Syal, Rob Brydon, Ashna Rabheru and Daniel Ezra. The special based on the book written by Julia Donaldson and illustrated by Axel Scheffler is set on a far-off planet and tells the story of two aliens from two different families who have always avoided each other and fall in love. Julia Smuts Louw wrote the script and Barney Goodland and Martin Pope are producing the Magic Light Pictures production. Aubry (The Bears’ Famous Invasion of SicilyUnder the Bombs) has previously scored numerous project for Magic Light Pictures, including The GruffaloStick Man, Room on the Broom, The Highway Rat, ZogZog and the Flying Doctors, The Snail and the Whale and Superworm. The Smeds and the Smoos will premiere this Christmas on BBC One and on BBC iPlayer.