Alex Heffes Piano Album ‘Sudden Light’ Announced

Posted: April 20, 2022 by filmmusicreporter in Film Music Albums

BAFTA-nominated composer Alex Heffes¬†will release a collection of piano performances of his themes from cinema. The album, entitled Sudden Light, features music from such films as Dear Frankie, Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom, Queen of Katwe, Touching the Void, One Day in September, Emperor, The Elephant Queen, Earth: One Amazing Day, Hope Gap, as well as The 24th, for which he wrote two Ragtime pieces that he expanded for the record with new sections into pieces that stand alone as a homage to that style of music he really like and grew up with. Also included is Sadie’s Theme from the Hulu limited series 11/22/63. The music on the album is performed entirely by Heffes and will be released on May 6, 2022 by Silva Screen Records. Check back on this page for the streaming/download link.

Here’s the track list of the album:

1. The Final Letter (4:32)
2. I Have Been Here Before (4:20)
3. Shiny Shiny Waltz (3:17)
4. Sadie’s Theme (2:53)
5. Phiona’s Theme (3:34)
6. Moving On (4:21)
7. One Day In September (2:54)
8. Theme From Mandela: Long Walk To Freedom (3:11)
9. Aya’s Theme (3:23)
10. Ronnie’s Theme (2:27)
11. Boston And Marie (4:11)
12. Marie’s Rag (2:48)
13. Penguin Raiders Return (3:09)
14. Rainforest Waltz (2:25)
15. Touching The Void (3:52)
16. For John (1:12)
17. I Have Been Here Before (Annette Bening Vocal Version) (4:21)