academyThe Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has invited 395 artists and executives who have distinguished themselves by their contributions to theatrical motion pictures to join the organization. Among the invited artists this year are a number of film composers, including Emile Mosseri (The Last Black Man in San Francisco, Kajillionaire) who received his first Academy Award nomination this year for Minari, Pinar Toprak (Captain Marvel, The Angel), Aska Matsumiya (I’m Your Woman, Skate Kitchen), Lolita Ritmanis (Blizzard of Soul, Wild Daze), Lisbeth Scott (All My Life, Caroline and Jackie), Amelia Warner (Mary Shelley, Wild Mountain Thyme), Nora Kroll-Rosenbaun (Regarding Susan Sontag, Stockholm, Pennsylvania), Amanda Brown (Babyteeth, Red Obsession) and Len Calvo (Finding Agnes).

Also invited was jazz pianist/composer Jon Batiste who received his first Academy Award in the Original Score category this year for Pixar’s Soul, singer/songwriter H.E.R., Dernst Emile II & Tiara Thomas who won the Oscar this year in the Original Song category for Fight for You from Judas and the Black MessiahLeslie Odom Jr. who was nominated this year for the song Speak Now from One Night in Miami..., singer/songwriter/actress Janet Jackson, singer/songwriter Meshell Ndegeocello (Queen Sugar, Lackawanna Blues) and music editor Adam Milo Smalley (Missing Link, The Town).