Theodore Shapiro (The Devil Wears PradaTropic Thunder, Ghostbusters, BombshellSpy) & Joseph Shirley (Bad Trip, The Open House) are teaming up to co-score the upcoming Disney+ original series The Mysterious Benedict Society. The show is developed by Matt Manfredi & Phil Hay (Ride Along, Clash of the Titans) based on the bestselling book series by Trenton Lee Stewart and stars Tony Hale, Kristen Schaal, MaameYaa Boafo, Ryan Hurst, Mystic Inscho, Gia Sandhu, Seth B. Carr, Emmy DeOliveira and Marta Kessler. The series revolves around a group of orphans who are placed undercover at a boarding school and must foil a nefarious plot with global ramifications while creating a new sort of family along the way. Hay & Manfredi are also executive producing the Sonar Entertainment & 20th Television production with showrunners Todd Slavkin & Darren Swimmer (Defiance, Shadowhunters), as well as Jamie Tarses (Happy Endings, The Wilds), Karen Kehela Sherwood (The Good Lie, Blue Crush), James Bobin (The Muppets, Flight of the Conchords), David Ellender (Hunters), Matt Loze and Deepak Nayar (Bend It Like Beckham, Buena Vista Social Club). Shapiro has previously scored the Hay- & Mandredi-produced features The Invitation and Destroyer. The Mysterious Benedict Society will premiere on June 25, 2021 exclusively on Disney+.

Shapiro’s other upcoming projects include Michael Showalter’s The Eyes of Tammy Faye, which is set to premiere on September 24, 2021 by Searchlight Pictures, as well as Maya Forbes’ & Wally Wolodarsky’s The Good House, which is also expected to premiere this year.