‘Jinn’ Soundtrack Released

Posted: December 15, 2018 by filmmusicreporter in Film Music Albums
Tags: , , , ,

A soundtrack album has been released for the indie coming-of-age drama Jinn. The album features the film’s original music composed by Jesi Nelson. The soundtrack is now available to download on Amazon, where you can also check out audio clips. Jinn is written and directed by Nijla Mu’min and stars Zoe Renee, Simone Missick, Kelvin Harrison Jr., Dorian Missick, Hisham Tawfiq and Kelly Jenrette. The movie revolves around a 17-year old carefree black girl, whose world is turned upside down when her mother, a popular meteorologist, abruptly converts to Islam and becomes a different person, prompting Summer to reevaluate her identity. The drama premiered at this year’s SXSW Film Festival, where it received the Special Jury Award for writing, and was released in select theaters and on VOD last month by Orion Classics.

Here’s the track list of the album:

1. My Identity Is Shaped by My Parents (1:03)
2. I Cannot Be Bound (2:01)
3. My Name Is Jade Jennings (1:52)
4. Summer Sees Tahir / Tahir’s Room (1:21)
5. You Need to Learn Some Respect (0:54)
6. Jade Overhears (0:53)
7. Tahir’s House (1:40)
8. Summer & Tahir Lose Their Virginity (1:15)
9. HalalHottie (0:42)
10. Jade’s Prayer for Guidance (2:03)
11. Summer’s Insecurities / Deep Breath (1:14)
12. Summer’s Shahada (1:21)
13. Pancakes at David’s (0:56)
14. I Was Born a Smokeless Fire (0:44)
15. Summer Runs Away (6:10)
16. Just Happy to Be Free (3:29)