Premiering in the U.S. on Tuesday, January 30, is the German television series Babylon Berlin co-created and -directed by Tom Tykwer and starring Volker Bruch, Liv Lisa Fries, Matthias Brandt, Hannah Herzsprung, Karl Markovics, Lars Eidinger and Sebastian Urzen. Tykwer also co-scored the show with Johnny Klimek (Run Lola Run, The International, Cloud Atlas, Sense8). BMG has released a soundtrack album featuring the score, as well as tracks by The Bryan Ferry Orchestra, Moka Efti Orchestra & more last fall when the drama premiered overseas. Click here for the full album details. The series will be available to stream in the U.S. on Netflix.

Premiering on Wednesday, January 31, is the YouTube Red original series Step Up: High Water created by Holly Sorensen and starring Ne-Yo, Naya Rivera, Lauryn McClain, Petrice Jones, Faizon Love and Marcus Mitchell. Lionsgate Records will release a soundtrack album featuring the original songs from the show by Jason “Poo Bear” Boyd and “Jingle” Jared Gutstadt on the same day. Check out our soundtrack announcement for the full album details and to learn more about the series. 

Premiering on Thursday, February 1, before moving to its regular time slot on March 1, is the new NBC comedy A.P. Bio created by Mike O’Brien and starring Glenn Howerton, Patton Oswalt, Lyric Lewis, Mary Sohn, Aparna Brielle, Jacob McCarthy and Nick Peine. Jeff Cardoni (Mike and Dave Need Wedding Dates, CSI: Miami, Silicon Valley, Young SheldonSpeechless) is composing the show’s original music. Check out our previous news article to learn more about the series.

Premiering on Friday, February 2, is the Netflix original series Altered Carbon created by Laeta Kalogridis and starring Joel Kinnaman, James Purefoy, Kristin Lehman, Renée Elise Goldsberry, Martha Higareda, Dichen Lachman, Leonardo Nam and Chris Conner. The show’s original music is composed by Jeff Russo (Fargo, Star Trek: Discovery, Legion, The Night Of).  Check out our scoring assignment announcement to learn more about the sci-fi drama. The show’s full first season will be available to stream on Friday on Netflix.

Also premiering on Friday is Sony Pictures Television Networks’ crime thriller Absentia created by Gaia Violo & Matt Cirulnick and starring Stana Katic, Patrick Heusinger, Cara Theobold, Neil Jackson, Angel Bonanni, Bruno Bichir, Paul Freeman and Ralph Ineson. Ofer Meiri has composed the original music for the show, which revolves around an FBI agent who, while hunting one of Boston’s most notorious serial killers, disappears without a trace and is declared dead. The series will premiere in the U.S. this Friday on Amazon Prime.

Missing from last week’s TV music roundup was the Netflix original movie A Futile and Stupid Gesture directed by David Wain and starring Will Forte, Domhnall Gleeson, Joel McHale, Emmy Rossum, Matt Walsh, Martin Mull, Thomas Lennon, Matt Lucas, Seth Green, Jackie Tohn and Natasha Lyonne. The film’s original music is composed by Craig Wedren (Role Models, Wet Hot American Summer, Glow, School of Rock). Check out our previous article to learn more about the film, which premiered this past Friday on Netflix.

Also missing in last week’s roundup was the new Netflix docu-series Dirty Money produced by Alex Gibney’s Jigsaw Production. Will Bates (The Path, I, Origins, Another Earth, Imperium) who previously scored numerous documentaries directed by Gibney has composed the show’s original music. The series, which exposes brazen acts of corporate greed and corruption, from crippling payday loans to cars that cheat emissions tests, is now available to stream on Netflix.