guild-of-music-supervisorsThe 7th Guild of Music Supervisors Awards were handed out on Thursday night at Ace Hotel in Downtown Los Angeles. Steven Gizicki received the top honor in the Best Music Supervision in Motion Picture – Motion Picture Over 25M for his work on Damien Chazelle’s La La Land. He also received an award for the song City of Stars from the musical in the Best Song/Recording Created for a Film category, which he shared with the film’s composer/songwriter Justin Hurwitz. The song previously won the Golden Globe and is also up for an Academy Award. Chris Douridas received the award in the Motion Picture Under 25M category for his music supervision on Matt Ross’ Captain Fantastic starring Viggo Mortensen. Howard Paar was honored in the Motion Picture Under 10M category for his music supervision on the indie dramedy 20th Century Women and Joel C. High took home the prize in the Motion Picture Under 5M category for his work on Of Mind and MusicIain Cooke and Ian Neil were the winners in the Best Music Supervision – Documentary category for their music supervision on Oasis: Supersonic and accepted their award via a video message.

Nora Felder won the award for the first season of Netflix’s Stranger Things in the TV Drama category, while Stephanie Diaz-Matos took home the award in the TV Comedy or Musical category for her music supervision on Netflix’s The Get Down. Diaz-Matos also accepted the award for the winner in the Best Song/Recording Created for Television category, Set Me Free from The Get Down performed by Herizen Guardiola (feat. Nile Rodgers & The Americanos) and written by Louie Rubio, Alexander Shultz, Raja Kumari, Baz Luhrmann & Elliott Wheeler. PJ Bloom was honored with the Guild of Music Supervisors Award for FX’s American Crime Story: The People vs. O.J. Simpson in the Television Limited Series or Movie category and Clyde Lieberman & Jill Meyers received the award in the Reality Television category for season 10 of NBC’s The Voice. Other winners include Cybele Pettus for the video game FIFA 17, Lana Bui and Naaman Snell for the trailer #2 of Suicide Squad (Rhapsody), Apple for best use of music for a brand (iPhone 7, “Dive”) and Sam Spiegel (Squeak-E Clean) for Kenzo The New Fragrance in the Best Use of Music by a Music House category.

For the second time, the organization gave out the Guild of Music Supervisors Legacy award, which went to Gary LeMel, who served as President of Music at both Columbia Pictures and Warner Bros. Studios and worked on such films/soundtracks as A Star Is Born, The Big Chill, Ghostbusters and The Bodyguard. The awards show also featured a number of live performances,  including AURORA who performed the David Bowie cover Life on Mars from the fifth season of HBO’s Girls and Teamheadkick who performed the Deadpool Rap from Tim Miller’s hit movie. Among the presenters throughout the evening were composers Mark Mothersbaugh & Tyler BatesAmerican Idol judge Randy Jackson, actor Tom Everett Scott, actor/director Mario Van Peebles, and American Idol season 15 finalist La’Porsha Renae.