maigretSamuel Sim is composing the music for the upcoming ITV drama Maigret. The series based on Georges Simenon’s best-selling novels is set in 1950s Paris and stars Rowan Atkinson as the legendary French fictional detective Jules Maigret. Fiona Shaw, Aiden McCardle, Shaun Dingwall, Lucy Cohu, Leo Starr, Rufus Wright, Hugh Simon, David Dawson, Colin Mace and Rebecca Night are co-starring. The drama is written by Stewart Harcourt (Treasure Island, Marple), produced by Jeremy Gwilt (Home Fires) and executive produced by Barnaby Thompson (An Ideal Husband, Dorian Gray, St. Trinians) and Ben Latham-Jones (The D Train) for Ealing Studios, John Simenon & Paul Aggett and Stewart Harcourt. The first two movies in the series, Maigret Sets a Trap and Maigret’s Dead Man, will premiere later this year in the UK on ITV.

Sim whose previous scoring credits include the thriller Awake starring Jessica Alba, the mini-series The Reckoning and ABC’s Combat Hospital is also returning to score the second season of ITV’s Home Fires starring Samantha Bond & Francesca Annis, which is set to premiere later this year. The series airs in the U.S. on PBS.