one-mississippiMarcelo Zarvos has composed the music for the Amazon Studios pilot One Mississippi. The show is created by Diablo Cody (Juno, Young Adult, The United States of Tara) and comedian Tig Notaro who also stars in the film alongside Noah Harpster, John Rothman and Casey Wilson. The comedy is loosely based on Nataro’s life and follows her as she deals with the complex reentry into her childhood hometown of Bay Saint Lucille, Miss., to deal with the unexpected death of her mother. Notaro is also executive producing the project with Cody, Louis C.K., Blair Breard (Louie) and Dave Becky (Everybody Hates Chris). Nicole Holofcener who previously collaborated with Zarvos on the features Enough Said and Please Give has directed the pilot episode and also serves as an executive producer. The One Mississippi pilot is now available to stream on Amazon and users will be able to influence the decision whether the dark comedy will be picked up to series.

zZarvos has also scored the Amazon pilot Z created by Dawn Prestwich and Nicole Yorkin (The Killing) and starring Christina Ricci, Gavin Stenhouse, as well as guest stars David Strathairn, Kristine Nielsen, Maya Kazan, Sarah Schenkkan, Jamie Anne Allman and Holly Curran. The show is based on Zelda Sayre Fitzgerald’s life and follows the brilliant, beautiful and talented Southern Belle as she meets then-unpublished writer F. Scott Fitzgerald and moves through their turbulent love affair and their marriage. Ricci is also executive producing the project with Pamela Koffler (Still Alice) and Christine Vachon (Carol, One Hour Photo, Far from Heaven) for Killer Films. Tim Blake Nelson (Anesthesia) has directed the pilot episode, which is now available to stream on Amazon.

The composer’s upcoming feature projects include the Nicholas Sparks adaptation The Choice, the Stephen King adaptation Cell and the John Le Carre adaptation Our Kind of Traitor. He is also scoring the second season of Showtime’s The Affair and will return to score the fourth season of Showtime’s Ray Donovan in 2016.