sclOn Thursday evening, the Society of Composers & Lyricists (SCL) hosted its annual reception honoring the Emmy Award-nominated composers and songwriters in the music-related categories at the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences headquarters in North Hollywood. SCL president Ashley Irwin, as well as Television Academy music peer group governors Ian Fraser and Michael A. Levine introduced the nominees who briefly spoke to the audience. Among the composers in the Outstanding Music Composition for a Series category present at the event were Ramin Djawadi who was Emmy-nominated before for Prison Break and Fast Forward and received his first nomination this year for his score for HBO’s Game of Thrones, as well as previous Emmy winner Jeff Beal who received his third nomination for his music from Netflix’s House of Cards after being nominated twice last year for both his score and his main title theme from the show. Among the nominees in the Outstanding Music Composition for a Miniseries, Movie or a Special in attendance were two first time nominees, including Jeff Russo who was honored for his work on FX’s critically acclaimed series Fargo and James Levine who received a nomination for his music from American Horror Story: Coven. Composers in the Best Main Title Theme Music category who attended the event in person were Bear McCreary who received his first Emmy Award last year for his theme from DaVinci’s Demons and is nominated this year for his theme music from Starz’s Black Sails, as well as first time nominee Robert Lydecker who is nominated for co-writing the theme for Fox’s Sleepy Hollow with Brian Tyler and Daniele Luppi who received his first nomination for his theme from Starz’s Magic City.


‘Game of Thrones’ composer Ramin Djawadi


‘House of Cards’ composer Jeff Beal


‘Fargo’ composer Jeff Russo


‘American Horror Story: Coven’ composer James Levine


‘Black Sails’ composer Bear McCreary


‘Sleepy Hollow’ composer Robert Lydecker

Also in attendance at the cocktail reception were four nominees in the Original Music and Lyrics category, including Bob Christianson and Alisa Hauser who wrote the music and lyrics for the song No Trouble from PBS’ Christmas Carol: The Concert and William Kavanagh and Craig Gerber who are nominated for the song Merroway Cove from Disney Channel’s Sofia The First: The Floating Palace. The only nominee in attendance in the Outstanding Music Direction category was three-time Emmy winner William Ross who is nominated for his work on PBS’ Barbra Streisand: Back to Brooklyn (Great Performances). The Primetime Creative Arts Emmy Awards (including all music categories) will be presented tonight at the NOKIA Theatre L.A. LIVE. Check back on this page for the winners.


‘Magic City’ composer Daniele Luppi


‘Christmas Carol: The Concert’ songwriters Bob Christianson & Alisa Hauser

‘Sofia the First’ songwriters William Kavanagh & Craig Gerber


Composer/Musical Director William Ross

  1. Macejko says:

    Ramin must win already!