Golden Globe Nominations Announced

Posted: December 12, 2013 by filmmusicreporter in Film Music News

goldenglobeThe nominations for the 71st Golden Globe Awards were announced this morning. Here are the music-related categories and nominations:

Best Original Score:

All Is Lost – Alex Ebert
Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom – Alex Heffes
The Book Thief – John Williams
12 Years a Slave – Hans Zimmer
Gravity – Steven Price

Best Original Song:

Atlas – Written by Guy Berryman, Jonny Buckland, Will Champion & Chris Martin – The Hunger Games: Catching Fire
Let It Go – Written by Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez – Frozen
Ordinary Love – Written by U2 and Brian Burton – Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom
Please Mr. Kennedy – Written by Ed Rush, George Cromarty, T Bone Burnett, Justin Timberlake, Joel Coen, Ethan Coen – Inside Llewyn Davis
Sweeter Than Fiction
– Written by by Taylor Swift and Jack Antonoff –  One Chance

In the Best Original Score category, Steven Price, Alex Heffes and Alex Ebert received their first Golden Globe nominations, while John Williams and Hans Zimmer have been nominated and won multiple times.

For a full list of nominations, click here. The awards will be given out at the The 71st Annual Golden Globe® Awards ceremony on January 12, 2014 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles.