‘Luther’ Soundtrack Announced

Posted: August 18, 2013 by filmmusicreporter in TV Music Albums
Tags: , , , , ,

lutherSilva Screen Records has announced a soundtrack release for the BBC series Luther. The album features selections from the show’s original score of the first three seasons composed by Paul Englishby (An Education, Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day), as well as songs featured in the series by artists including Massive Attack, Nina Simone, Emiliana Torrini, Marilyn Manson, The Heavy, Kasabian and Suede. The soundtrack will be released overseas on September 9, 2013. No word yet on a domestic release. Luther created by Neil Cross and executive produced by Phillippa Giles stars Idris Elba as near-genius detective John Luther. The BBC and BBC America co-production premiered in 2010. The third season of the series aired earlier this summer in the UK and is set to premiere in the US on September 3 on BBC America. For updates on the drama, visit the official show website.

Here’s the track list of the album:

1. Paradise Circus – Massive Attack
2. The First Case – Paul Englishby
3. Big Bad Wolf – The Heavy
4. Carnage – Paul Englishby
5. Me and the Devil – Gil Scott-Heron
6. Luther Does Things His Way – Paul Englishby
7. Black Whistler – Kasabian
8. John Luther – Paul Englishby
9. Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood – Nina Simone
10. Unlucky Young Couple – Paul Englishby
11. Gun – Emiliana Torrini
12. Attack in the Attic – Paul Englishby
13. She – Suede
14. The Chilcren – Paul Englishby
15. Flash – Joan as Police Woman
16. Double Crossed – Paul Englishby
17. Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This) – Marilyn Manson
18. He’s Behind You – Paul Englishby
19. I Got a Thing – Hanni El Khatib
20. Alice – Paul Englishby
21. Palaces of Montezuma – Grinderman