Andrew Hewitt to Score ‘The Sea’

Posted: December 31, 2012 by filmmusicreporter in Film Scoring Assignments
Tags: , ,

andrewhewittAndrew Hewitt has signed on to score the upcoming drama The Sea. The film is directed by Stephen Brown and stars Ciaran Hinds, Charlotte Rampling, Natascha McElhone, Rufus Sewell, Sinead Cusack, Missy Keating, Matthew Dillon and Padhraig Parkinson. The movie is based on the Man Booker Prize-winning novel by John Banville (Albert Nobbs) who adapted his work for the screen and tells the story of a man who returns to the sea where he spent his childhood summers in search of peace following the death of his wife. Luc Roeg (We Need To Talk About Kevin), Michael Robinson (Mr. Nice) and David Collins (Once) of Samson Films are producing the Independent and Samson Films production in association with Rooks Nest Entertainment, Quicksilver Films, Windmill Lane Pictures and RTE. The Sea is set to be released in the UK next year. No word yet on a domestic distribution deal.

As previously reported, Hewitt has scored the indie comedy The Brass Teapot starring Juno Temple, Michael Angarano, Alexis Bledel and Alia Shawkat. The film premiered at the Toronto Film Festival this year and has been picked up by Magnolia Pictures for a US release in 2013. Also coming up for the composer is the comedy The Double directed by Richard Ayoade and starring Jesse Eisenberg and Mia Wasikowska.