In our second part of this summer’s roundup of television scores, we’re taking a look at the new and returning shows on FX, ABC Family and Starz. Also visit our previous article featuring shows on ABC, NBC, CBS, USA and Showtime.


The only new show this summer on FX is the comedy Wilfred. The show stars Elijah Wood as a depressed and unemployed worker who imagines seeing a man in a dog costume. Jason Gann and Fiona Gubelmann are co-starring and guest stars include Ed Helms, Chris Klein and Rashida Jones. Jim Dooley (Pushing Daisies, Obsessed) is providing the score for the show. Wilfred is based on an Australian series with the same title and is adapted by David Zuckerman (Family Guy, American Dad). Randall Einhorn (The Office, It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia) directed the pilot. The show’s first season of 13 episodes is currently airing every Thursday night on FX. Visit the FX show webpage for more information on the show.

Also airing on FX this summer is the final season of the drama Rescue Me. The show created by Denis Leary and Peter Tolan focuses on the professional and personal lives of a group of New York City firefighters in the fictitious Ladder 62 / Engine 99 firehouse. Brad Hatfield and Adam Roth are writing the score for the show. Both composers have been scoring the drama for the last few years, taking over from Christopher Tyng who scored the early seasons. The seventh and final season of Rescue Me currently airs every Wednesday night on FX. For updates on the series, visit FX’s show website.


The former FX drama Damages recently entered its fourth season on DirecTV’s Audience Network after FX cancelled the show. The series created by the writing and production trio of Daniel Zelman and brothers Glenn and Todd A. Kessler revolves around the brilliant yet ruthless lawyer, Patty Hewes, played by Glenn Close. James Levine (Nip/Tuck, Glee, Royal Pains) who scored the previous seasons is back writing the music for season 4. Damages currently airs every Wednesday night on DirecTV’s Audience Network. For more information, visit the official show website.

ABC Family:

ABC Family has a number of new shows premiering this summer. Switched at Birth centers around two teen girls who discover that they were accidentally switched at birth. One girl grew up in a wealthy family with two parents and two brothers, while the other one, who lost her hearing as a child due to a case of meningitis, grew up with a single mother in a poor neighborhood. The series is created and produced by Lizzy Weiss (Blue Crush) and stars Vanessa Marano, Katie Leclerc, Constance Marie, D.W. Moffett, Lea Thompson and Lucas Grabee. Also producing are Paul Stupin (Dawson’s Creek) and John Ziffren (Melissa & Joey). John Swihart (Napoleon Dynamite, Youth in Revolt, How I Met Your Mother) is scoring the show. Switched at Birth airs every Monday night on ABC Family. To learn more about the drama, visit the official show website.

Another show that premiered last month on the cable network is The The Nine Lives of Chloe King. The show based on the book series by Liz Braswell and adapted for TV by Dan Berendsen (Hannah Montana: The Movie) centers on a teenager who discovers she has special cat-like powers, including nine lives, superhuman speed, strength, hearing, agility, night vision and the ability to extend her nails like cat claws. The series stars Skyler Samuels, Amy Pietz, Grey Damon, Grace Phipps, Benjamin Stone, Alyssa Diaz and Ki Hong Lee. Doug DeAngelis (Lie to Me, Employee of the Month) is the composer of the show. The Nine Lives of Chloe King airs every Tuesday night on ABC Family. Check out the official show website for more details.

The sitcom State of Georgia also recently premiered on ABC Family. The show starring Raven-Symoné, Majandra Delfino and Loretta Devine revolves around an aspiring actress with a larger-than-life personality and her science geek best friend who are trying to make professional and personal headway in New York City. The show is created by Jeff Greenstein (Will & Grace) and Jennifer Weiner (In Her Shoes). Marc Dauer, Evan Frankfort and Liz Phair (In Plain Sight, 90210) are scoring the show. State of Georgia airs every Wednesday night on ABC Family. To learn more about the sitcom, visit the series webpage.

Premiering later this summer is the drama The Lying Game. The show based on a series of novels by Sara Shepard is adapted for television by Charles Pratt, Jr. (Models, Inc.) and follows a kind-hearted foster kid who learns she has an identical twin sister. The series stars Alexandra Chando, Blair Redford, Sharon Pierre-Louis, Kirsten Prout, Alice Greczyn and Allie Gonino. Pieter A. Schlosser who has written additional music for various scores by Steve Jablonsky (including the latest Transformers movie) is providing the score for the project. The Lying Game is set to premiere on August 15 and will be airing every Monday night on ABC Family. For updates on the project, visit the official show website.

Three returning shows are also currently airing on ABC Family. The mystery teen drama Pretty Little Liars is created by Marlene King and follows the lives of four teenage girls. The show stars Troian Bellisario, Ashley Benson, Holly Marie Combs, Lucy Hale, Ian Harding, Shay Mitchell, Chad Lowe and Lara Leighton. Michael Suby (Vampire Diaries, The Butterfly Effect) is writing the score for the project. Pretty Little Liars is currently in its second season, which airs every Tuesday night. Visit ABC Family’s official show website for updates and news on the show.

Another returning ABC Family show is The Secret Life of the American Teenager. The show starring Shailene Woodley, Kenny Baumann, Molly Ringwald, Renee Olstead and Mark Derwin is created by Brenda Hampton (7th Heaven) and centers on a teenage girl and her relationships with her families and friends. Dan Foliart (Roseanne) is scoring the show and continues his working relationship with writer/producer Brenda Hampton for whom he previously scored the long-running family show 7th Heaven. The fourth season of The Secret Life of the American Teenager airs every Monday night on ABC Family. To learn more about the project, visit the official series webpage.

The final returning ABC Family show is the comedy Melissa & Joey. The show created by David Kendall and Bob Young (Boy Meets World) follows a local politician who hires a male nanny (or manny) to look after her niece and nephew after a Ponzi scheme leaves him broke. The comedy stars Melissa Joan Hart, Joseph Lawrence, Nick Robinson and Taylor Spreitler. Danny Lux (Grey’s Anatomy, My Name is Earl) and Michael Reola are writing the score for the project. The series that premiered last year is currently finishing its first season and has recently been renewed for a second season. Melissa & Joey airs every Wednesday night on ABC Family. News updates and show details can be found on the official series website.



The only original show airing this summer on Starz is the new season of Torchwood. The fourth series of the sci-fi drama, entitled Torchwood: Miracle Day  is a continuation of the BBC show and is co-produced with Starz for the first time. John Barrowman and Eve Myles, Bill Pullman, Mekhi Phifer, Alexa Havins and Arlene Tur are starring in the 10-episode series written by a team led by Torchwood creator, Russell T Davies. Murray Gold (Doctor Who, Death at a Funeral) is scoring the project. To learn more about Torchwood: Miracle Day, which is airing every Friday night on Starz, check out the official series website.

Check back soon on this page for our third and final part on this summer’s TV scores including shows on HBO, TNT, Syfy and Lifetime.