Critics’ Choice Nominations announced

Posted: December 13, 2010 by filmmusicreporter in Film Music News
Tags: ,

The 16th Annual Critics’ Choice Movie Award nominations have been announced this morning. The nominations in the Best Score category are:

Black Swan” – Clint Mansell
Inception” – Hans Zimmer
The King’s Speech” – Alexandre Desplat
The Social Network” – Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross
True Grit” – Carter Burwell

The Best Song nominees are:

“I See the Light” – performed by Mandy Moore & Zachary Levi/written by Alan Menken & Glenn Slater – Tangled
“If I Rise” – performed by Dido and A.R. Rahman/music by A.R. Rahman/lyrics by Dido Armstrong and Rollo Armstrong – 127 Hours
“Shine” – performed and written by John Legend – Waiting for Superman
“We Belong Together” – performed and written by Randy Newman – Toy Story 3
“You Haven’t Seen the Last of Me Yet” – performed by Cher/written by Diane Warren – Burlesque

For a full list of nominations, click here. The awards will be given on January 14, 2011. VH1 will broadcast the awards show in the US, while the show will also be broadcast internationally for the first time.

Also, some major local critics associations have been announced their winners yesterday. Here are the music-related winners:

Los Angeles Film Critics Assn.: MUSIC/SCORE: Alexandre Desplat, The Ghost Writer, and Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross, The Social Network (tie)

New York Film Critics Online: Best Score: Clint Mansell, Black Swan

Boston Society of Film Critics: Best use of music in a film: Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross, The Social Network