Annie Awards nominations announced

Posted: December 6, 2010 by filmmusicreporter in Film Music News
Tags: ,

Today, the International Animation Society announced the nominations for this year’s Annie Awards, which will take place on February 5, 2011. Here are the music-related categories:

Music in a Feature Production
Sylvain Chomet “The Illusionist” – Django Films
David Hirschfelder “Legend Of The Guardians: The Owls of Ga’Hoole” – Warner Bros. Pictures
John Powell “How To Train Your Dragon” – DreamWorks Animation
Harry Gregson Williams “Shrek Forever After” – DreamWorks Animation
Pharrell Williams, Heitor Pereira “Despicable Me” – Illumination Entertainment

Music in a Television Production
J. Walter Hawkes “The Wonder Pets!” – Nickelodeon Production & Little Airplane Productions
Henry Jackman, Hans Zimmer and John Powell “Kung Fu Panda Holiday” – DreamWorks Animation
Tim Long, Alf Clausen, Bret McKenzie, Jemaine Clement “The Simpsons: Elementary School Musical” – Gracie Films
Shawn Patterson “Robot Chicken’s DP Christmas Special” – ShadowMachine
Jeremy Wakefield, Sage Guyton, Nick Carr, Tuck Tucker “SpongeBob SquarePants” – Nickelodeon

Noticeably absent is Randy Newman’s score for Pixar’s Toy Story 3, which could be explained by Disney’s withdrawal from the International Animation Society earlier this year (Toy Story 3 got a total of 3 nominations, while Dreamworks Animation’s How To Train Your Dragon received 15 nominations). For a full list of the nominations, visit the official Annie Awards webpage.